General Croatia

Croatia is divided up into regions which are Central Croatia, Slavonia and Baranja, Istria, Kvarner, Gorski Kotar and Lika, Northern Dalmatia, Central Dalmatia and Southern Dalmatia. There are densely and sparsely populated areas in Croatia. The most densely populated parts are the towns and areas surrounding Zagreb, Split, Rijeka and Osijek, and the most dense ones are Gorski Kotar, Lika and Dalmatinska Zagora.

• Area: 56,542 sq. km
• Territorial sea: 31,067 sq. km
• Length of land border: 2,028 sq. km
• Population (census of 1991): 4,381,352
• Number of inhabitants/sq. km: 85,6
• Religious confessions: prevalently Roman Catholic (85%)
• Capital: Zagreb (cca 950,000 inhabitants)
• Language: Croatian
• Script: Latin
• Political system: parliamentary democracy
• Currency: Kuna (kn) 1 kuna (100 lipa = 1 kuna)
• Int. telephone dialing no.: +385
• Voltage: 220V, 50Hz 

Sabor RHGeographical position and borders
The Republic of Croatia is situate on the eastern shore of the Adriatic sea and its hinterland spans the Alpine slopes, a large portion of the Panonian plain to the shores of the Danube and Drava rivers. Its territory covers 56,538 square kilometers, of which 5,790 kilometers comprise the coast and the islands. The territorial water area includes 1,185 islands, islets and reefs, amounting to 3,1000 square kilometers. There are three geographical entities in Croatia - the Mediterranean, the ountainous and the Panonian. In the west, Croatia borders on the Italian Adriatic, in the northwest and north with Slovenia, in the north and northeast with Hungary. In the east, it borders on the Vojvodina province (within Serbia), in the south with Bosnia and Herzegovina and at the very south, with Montenegro.

Length of continental border
Slovenia: 501 km; Hungary: 329 km; Serbia: 241 km ; Bosnia and Herzegovina: 932 km; Montenegro: 25 km

There are 6,694 settlements in Croatia: 205 towns and cities and 6,489 villages. 57,1% of the population live in cities and towns, and 42,9% live in villages. Four towns have more than 100,000 inhabitants. The greatest city is Zagreb with around 800,000 inhabitants, followed by Split with 190,000, Rijeka with 170,000 and Osijek with 105,000 inhabitants. Six cities (Zadar, Slavonski Brod, Velika Gorica, Pula, Sisak, Šibenik) have between 50,000 and 80,000 inhabitants (list 2001.). Cities mainly belong to two cultural-architectural styles: the Mediterranean (in the coastal area) and the Middle-European (in the continental area).

Nacionalna i sveučilišnaClimate

Croatia is blessed with moderate climate and well defined all four annual periods.The summers are not outrageously hot, exceptional winter cold is rare, and when they do appear they do not last for long, and the spring and autumn are pleasant.The climate of the inner coastal area and islands is Mediterranean, with gentle and humid winters, and warm, dry and sunny summers. Zagora is graced with sub-Mediterranean climate with a somewhat colder winter and hotter summer. The northeastern parts of Croatia have a moderate continental climate with warm summers and frequent summer storms. Thus the summers in the continental part are not as hot as the ones in the coastal area. During winter, snow is retained on the ground for 25-40 days per year, and only in the higher elevations of the mountainous area it remains for more than 40 days.

Croatian Adriatic - a Sea with a Thousand Islands
The Adriatic has a length of 870 kilometers and a breadth of at most 210 kilometers. It is one of the most beautiful seas in the world. It is marked by a high degree of salinity, a special purity and warmth.

General Croatia - CroMaps - Croatian Adriatic - Welcome to CroMaps navigator - maps, city croatia, tourist info - Croatia! - Sports popular in Croatia include football, handball, basketball, water polo and tennis.